Some people are born to be leaders, while others believe leadership can be learnt.

Discuss both views and give opinion.

It is a controversial issue whether leaders are born with innate talents or they became leaders through a lifelong learning process. While there is a tendency to believe that being successful as a leader is something inherent, many people claim this skill can be achieved by a solid plan.

To begin with, it is unarguable that some people are born with a charisma characteristic which helps them to enhance their intellectual abilities as the main requirement for being a leader. This gifted group of people has some inherent capabilities such as decision making or implementing right policies. They know how to react when facing with a challenge and how to control a specific situation. Another innate trait is their ability to make speech in a way to make a profound impression on audiences. Take Barak Obama as an illustrative example. His charismatic character was recognized as one of the main aspect of his success.

By contrast, however, there is convincing evidence which indicates many of leaders became leaders through a prolonged process including gaining experience, mentoring, and relevant education. If we take this view that leadership is a skill, it is logical to accept this idea that it can be learnt. More evidence come from many workshops, courses, and higher education which are running increasingly to promote the efficiency of leader performance. For example, in many well-known companies it is essential for higher position to pass a specific curriculum consist of relevant courses such as Managements or Human Resource knowledge.

In conclusion, taking everything into consideration, despite the fact that some leaders have inborn abilities, it seems that, same as other skill, being a successful leadership is achievable by providing a solid plan and through gaining experiences and knowledge.