Some people argue that all experimentation on animals is bad and should be outlawed.

However, others believe that important scientific discoveries can be made from animal experiments.

Can experimentation on animals be justified? Are there any alternatives?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

Whether or not to subject animal to experimentation and testing has been an ethical debate for a while now. I would like to use skin and hair care brands to express my point of view here.

In the hierarchy of life, humans are seen as several notches above other life forms on the planet we live in. This is self-proclaimed superiority is a convenient truth the world has allowed ourselves to adopt. Therefore the argument virtually becomes a non-issue in the minds of those who support it. While my personal value system does not subscribe to this thinking, in the spirit of being unbiased, I will acknowledge the role of animal experimentation has saved many lives like in the case of the HIV and Ebola vaccines.

The moot point of the argument rests on whether or not animal testing is addressing a life threatening objective or is it being undertaken for commercial gain by glitzy skin and hair care brands for profit.

Not very long ago I prided myself at being a well informed shopper of cosmetic and hair care products. My shopping purchases were largely driven by well researched brand information which made the promise of youth and hair gloss. slick adverts which direct your attention to a slew of end cosmetic payoffs. However with the proliferation of social media, I am much wiser and better informed. I now have connected with like minded communities who believe that beauty is just skin deep as the real issue is with how those products came to be in the first place. In my quest for the truth I stumbled upon the EWG - the environmental working group which started off as a small support to analyse toxicity in products and they now have a mega- database of 200,000 data points covering most Fast Moving Consumer good categories which works a guideline to consumers. The also provide an ethical rating to products which most top end cosmetic and toiletry brands are threatened by.

Interestingly, brand formulations with high toxicity are the brands that frequently use animal testing. The pertinent question, therefore, is why is it that the FDA and authorities alike allow these chemically loaded products to pass through their approvals. They should be banned and governments should instead only allow the production of organic & clean products in the market which don't require animal testing. They could offer tax-free incentives to manufacturers and educate consumers on the benefits of using these chemical free products.

Just one government directive could help humanity solve the health crises and help support a cleaner more, ethical world for generations to come.