Some people argue that immigrants should adopt the local culture when immigrating to a new country. An alternative view is that they can adapt to a new environment by establishing a minor community. Discuss these two views and give your opinion.

As far as immigration of people and their successive assimilation into the host country's culture is concerned, there are two contrasting viewpoints. The first stance is that of the hardliners who are of the school of thought that all immigrants must adopt the host culture, whereas, the other view is more moderate in nature and is in the favour of letting the immigrants set up a small community of their own. This essay advocates the latter viewpoint after discussing the salient features of them both.

The first argument of forcing the local culture upon a set of migrants is not only medieval in nature but is also an infringement upon their human rights, it can be argued. This school of thought mainly stems from the false belief of utmost superiority of one's own culture and relative disrespect of other faiths and practices. History has countless examples of this phenomenon - the foremost one that comes to mind is that of Venetian sailors being forced to offer prayers to 'Allah' as a prerequisite if they wanted to anchor their ships for supplies and trade at the ports of Arabia during the middle ages.

The second school of thought of letting a foreign group of migrants establish their small community in the land of the host country is more liberal, modern, and humane. Such a viewpoint upholds personal freedom and the right to practice one's faith and shows respect towards other communities as much as one respects his own culture. The United Sates of America is a living example of such a viewpoint of human liberty and self-respect where one would find many communities living together in harmony while sharing the best practices of their cultures among one another. Needless to say, this not only strengthens communal bonds but is also vital in building a nation so great that portrays unity in diversity.

In conclusion, it is clear to state that migrants must be allowed to form their minor community in the host nation, for such a policy is fundamental to the fraternity, brotherhood, unity, and progress of a modern nation.