Some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hard work and practice can make you successful. Discuss both views and give your opinion?

Some people think that to be an amazing athlete it must be a talent while others think that being great at sports is only with working yourself up to the top. I think it is possible both ways.

Athletes are successful by their natural talent which makes them successful for sports. In Olympics or any other competition there are athletes who’s father or brother were also athletes. That means sport is already coded in their DNA. It does not mean that they do not work hard as others but they have something extra. For example 60% of Norway athletes have at least one or two relatives who were good at sports.

Hard work and practice is another way to be successful at sports but it remain really good discipline and consistency. Even for a regular people who struggle with overweight and soon as they start to work out and change their nutrition, couple of months later you can see a results. It is same way in sports as there are so many athletes who doing sports as this is their passion. For example Estonian tennis player Kaia Kanepi did not have any relatives but she worked hard and now she is one of the top tennis player in the word because of her passion.

For conclusion it is said that athletes who have natural talent are more successful in sports while other thinks it is possible to be good at sports when you work hard. I believe it is possible both ways as long as they have passion and interest what they are doing.