Some people believe that it is important to give gifts and presents to friends and family to show that we care about them. Others think that there are better ways to show that we care about them. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

A section of society asserts that the gifts and presents are indispensable to portray love and affection towards an individual, while others believe that there are various alternatives to gifts which are equally effective and convey the same message. I endorse the idea of using other means and methods to show compassion and care for the loved ones.

To begin with, one of the most common ways to impress your friends and family members is by presenting them with an invaluable gift which they can keep and remember for a long time. A well-thought-out item given as a present not only acts as a token of love but also symbolises a real relationship. If one offers a gift which is in accordance with the necessity of the taker, then it is evident that the presenter knows about the needs and wants of the person very well. For instance, when I needed a new suit for my graduation ceremony, my father was well aware of that and took the opportunity to gift me a new tuxedo on my 17th birthday.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, offering even an expensive present only once is not adequate to build a strong connection or develop a relationship. To improve a relationship, one needs to devote enough time and be present in all kinds of situations, whether it is an occasion to celebrate or adversity. Furthermore, imparting knowledge and learnings from experience are still considered as a vital present. For example, every year, my grandmother used to tell anecdotes from her childhood, along with a handmade local dish, which used to be a profound and memorable gift for me.

To conclude, presents have the ability to express care and emotions for others, albeit, in my opinion, other abstract ways, such as spending time and inculcating knowledge, generate same feelings which can last for a longer period.