Some people believe that children can learn effectively by watching TV and they should be encouraged to watch TV both home and at school. To what extent do you agree or disagree

Watching TV is considered an effective wayhas been recognized as an effective method of learning because audio and visual information can attract children’s attention. Even though there are many educative TV programs, I would argue that increasing screen time could be a bad idea.

Learning by watching TV is more likely to be distractive than effective. There are many fun cartoons and movies that are just click away on the remote. Without proper scrutiny from adults, children would most likely switch to “Cartoon World” instead of studying. Moreover, the development of brain requires interactive activities. Unlike reading, watching TV requires far less concentration. A child could end up with less attention span if he or she watches too much TV.

Another problem is that watching TV will influence children’s ability to communicate. In modern days, collaboration and communication is an effective way of learning. Schools often have projects and presentations which requires team work. Sitting in front of a TV alone provides no training in communication skills. A child who does not know how to learn from peers would find it difficult to be successful academically.A child who sits infront of a TV for hours may become unsocialable and unwilling to express his or her views to thers.

On the other hand, watching TV can be beneficial since it could expand a child’s knowledgeI understand that watching TV can expose children to a world of knowledge. TV programs usually provide a wide selection of subjects which are not often taught in every schools. Some programs feature scientists from the most renowned institutions. For example, NASA has an educative program on space travelling. The TV show debunks myth about living in space. These programs are fun to watch, and easy to understand even for a kid. They supplement what children learn from schools.

In conclusion, I believe that TV shows should not be the main source of learning, however, they could be excellent supplement materials for school education.