Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Currently there is a contentious argument that whether the nations should try to procure food from their own country or should import food from other countries. I agree that the nations should try to be self-sufficient for promoting the local produce. In this essay I will discuss both the views and then conclude my views.

Beyond any qualms there are myriads of logical reasons that prove that self-sufficiency in producing food in a country is better than importing it from international market. During the war for independence Mahatma Gandhi created revolution in India by asking the people of India to Boycott foreign goods. This shook the entire British leaders who were ruling in India. When a country produces the food and restricts the import of agricultural produce from other countries then it leads to a series of positive developments. Firstly, more jobs are created for the citizens of that country. Secondly, a huge amount of financial gain occurs which could have been wasted in excise duty and goods import tax. For example, Patanjali has become a successful brand name in India. It manufactures all kinds of grocery items by obtaining raw material from the rural areas of India which is indirectly leading to development of such areas.

On the contrary, others believe that everything cannot be produced in a single country due to climate restrictions and secondly even the approach of opening huge factories in a nation requires funds which can sometimes be more that the import tax. For instance, lettuce farming requires an optimal temperature conditions and was thus imported in India until recently when certain farmers in India started lettuce plantations in controlled temperature conditions. This led to development of those particular areas and benefitted the entire population as less money was required to obtain it from India as compared to previous lettuce after imposing import tax. Moreover, importing things will not be the permanent solution to this ardent issue that affects the entire population of India.

In conclusion, I believe that it is true that a nation should try to produce the food demands as much as possible from the country itself as it will promote the livelihood of the citizens of their own country and improve the economy of the country as well. Will the leaders of our country realize this issue? Still remains a question.