Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Globalisation has positively impacted most of the countries and trading of various items including food products and supplements become inexpensive and easy. Countries should be well sufficient to feed their population by producing locally and less focus should be given to import believe by some people. I agree with the statement that countries should be capable to feed their citizens by themselves and in the following essay I will discuss my viewpoints on the same.

A country can have numerous benefits by producing food locally to feed their people for instance, more jobs will be created to cater large demands of citizens, circulation of money in the market will increase as people will buy and sell products in different cities and states, there will be less or no problems of food shortage will arise in the nation. Apart from these benefits, if country will import less and possibly export the excess quantity to neighbourhood countries then in that way gross domestic product of the country will be improved and nation become self sufficient. Importing food is expensive for any country as it demands high freight charges, loading and unloading, transportation and refrigerator storage facility and many more.

On the other side, large quantity of modern equipment, manpower, fertile land and seeds should be needed to produce food for whole nation. Additionally, people will have to cut down the forest areas for farming and cultivation to tackle the big proportion demand of food. Also it is irrefutable to say that government have to provide some subsidies and monetary aids to farmers in initial stage as a way to push the supply.

In conclusion, it is beneficial for any country to be self sufficient and to meet the food demand of their citizens by mitigating the import to increase the growth of a nation.