Some people believe that countries should produce the food to feed their population themselves and import as little as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Every nation must keep its citizens well fed throughout their lifetime. While a large proportion of food products are produced within the country, some are imported. According to few people, a country should be self-sufficient in feeding its masses while showing minimal dependence on other countries. I strongly agree with this notion and the contributing factors are explained further.

The most important factor behind a country’s prosperity is its self-sufficiency to feed its population at all times because, whenever there is a dispute between the two nations the trade and relation are strained. This further leads to disruptions in supply chain. As a result, the supplier takes advantage of the situation and exploits the buyer in terms of higher price and lower quality and dents the growth of business. This phenomenon was evident in World War 2 wherein the smaller countries ran out of their food grains while most of the supplying nation were busy stocking supplies for their armed forces.

Apart from the supplies and dependence, imports from other countries also cause trade deficit in long run, for the buying partner. A substantial part of the transaction value comprises of the basic cost and is paid to the seller with some taxes, which are applicable in his country of origin. Consequently, the financial reserves of the buying nation deplete very quickly and leaves a little or nothing for its own development. On the contrary, if the essential items are produced and consumed within the country itself, it provides jobs to a larger group of people and brings all-around prosperity.

Thus, it should be understood by the particular country that self-reliance is more important than to become overly dependent for essential needs; however, a few non-essential products can be imported from other nations. I believe this will keep both the sides balanced and harmonious.