Some people believe that countries should produce food that its population needs, and import food as less as possible. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Indubitably, ensuring food adequacy for the entire citizens of a nation has always been a concern. It is often argued that a certain number of people believe that country leaders should focus on domestic food production rather than importing food products from different countries. Certainly, I firmly concur with the given notion.

Apparently, if government leaders will focus on local farming production, it holds a wide range of constructive benefits. To commence with, the fact that more a country will rely on imported food, the more food crisis it faces. Because, importing food products includes transportation costs, taxation, and other charges which eventually increase the food price. To tackle with this problem, national leaders should focus on local food production by ensuring to allocate more budgets in the domestic farming production. Apart from this, some diploma programs in farming can create more talented individuals who would involve in domestic farming production. As a result, it will be mass the production of local food items and will ensure the eradicate the problem of shortage of food in a nation.

Furthermore, government leaders should focus on farming, irrigation, and planting methods in their local farming industry. By putting focus and developing new ideas, it can increase the employment opportunities in a country. This kind of focus will withstand in growing the country's economy, especially when such kind of idea and this practice is done by developing countries. For example, in India, the farming sector created the highest number of jobs because of new farming methods which indirectly and directly include with agriculture sector. Last but not the least, when it comes to comparing the quality and freshness of food, importing food will always be not valued in such kind of comparing with two above terms. Additionally, importing food also has toxins and chemicals which could be harmful to the human body and will create health problems among the individuals living in a particular region.

In conclusion, to prevent the food crisis, ensuring a better quality of food, and decline unemployment problems could be achieved if a nation becomes self-sufficient in its food production.