Some people believe that educating children altogether will benefit them.
Others think intelligent children should be taught separately and given special
courses. Discuss those two views
In recent decades, children education has been given higher weight by the general
public. Some people believe that it is crucial, beneficial to gather talented
students and offer them special courses. However, as every coin has two sides,
the pros and cons of this educational philosophy will be discussed in the
following essay.
On the one hand, it is not surprising that arranging gifted children with special
classes and giving special instruction would bring tremendous interests to
producing élite students. The nutrient environment which promotes geniuses’
progress toward success could be provided by this teaching method. In stark
contrast, when learning through the ordinary curriculum, the personal development
of prodigies are usually hampered. In this effort, talented children could facilitate
their learning progress by exchanging knowledge and experience with their same
peers.
On the other hand, this teaching method has some drawbacks that should be taken
into consideration. In particular, it would foster depression, frustration amongst
slow students. Treating differently can drive ordinary students to feel a sense of
elimination and worthlessness. As a consequence, low-achievers could cast doubt
on their effort which leads to the lower performance and the lower record in
school. Furthermore, this arrangement can twist children’s perception of their
ability and potentially cause negative effects on their life afterwards.
In conclusion, it is a dilemma to evaluate the advantages and disadvantages of
teaching separately, differently intelligent students. Although this way can bring a
nutritious environment to the personal development of high-achievers, the feeling
of discrimination and other detrimental results should be taken into account
educators seriously.