Some people believe that government money should be spent on important things rather than arts such as painting and music. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Concerning the issue that government budget are being spent to various areas. It is believed that government should place their budget in other important fields rather than arts. In fact, a deeper look into its features convinces me that arts has its own unique values and government funds should be supported for its developement. Following are further explanations to my rendered opinion.

In the first place, among the numerous reasons for the thesis statement above, the most remarkable one is that some essential areas which have not yet met the certain level of public satisfaction. This is due to the fact that budget for these fields is in short-fall status. For example, people keep continuously complaining about weak health care system, poor public school’s quality and frail police forces to deal with criminals...etc. Therefore, it is reasonable to say that the government should contribute more generously to top hot fields but not arts.

The second reason why this issue is supported upon is that government-sponsored programs usually limit the creative of artists’ works. By using government financial support, artists should comply and follow government requirements and needs which definitely limit creativity of artists’ works. Moreover, government normally commission a work of art which are sometimes sheer political propaganda. Obviously, those kind of works which is merely a waste of money, do not benefit to people.

Taking everything into account, the above mentioned discussions have led to a confirmation that arts is not the right area that governments money should spend on. The thought-provoking nature of this issue should need further consideration, more academically and thoroughly.