Some people believe that government should make investment in building public libraries in every town, while others think it is a waste of money because we have access to information via internet. Discuss both views and give your opinion

In my point of view, libraries are tremendously important for every city. So, I really believe that investing heavily in it will bring uncountable benefits for population in general. Despite of all easy internet access today, I think that all these investments might be positive in many aspects.

There is a tendency to think that internet will make all books in the world useless. Although, I would argue that books are more crucial now than before. Indeed, find some information with Google or other tools online is faster than in past. However, people is actually losing their capacity to find deeper things. By this I mean that users are always looking for superficial information. Unfortunately, they are accustomed to have answers quickly in their computers instead of find reliable information on books.

Also, even if books become completely retired in future, I can see many different others benefits in communities with active libraries. I believe that books are not the only purpose of a library. In fact, there are many other program that might be interesting for the citizens. They create an environment proper to study and research as well. For instance, Winnipeg’s Public Library offers many services such as children program to beginning readers, social assistance and even English classes.

Therefore, the ideia to invest public money in libraries is, in my point of view, extremely positive to a city. So, they can combine several activities pretty useful for us, and they incentivize us to have more profound information in their books either.