Some people believe that governments should only fund scientific research that will

benefit human lives, e.g. lead to a curve for a disease or to an increase in food

production. Others disagree.

Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

The distribution of government funds to scientific research is a subject of ongoing debate. Some argue that resources should be exclusively allocated to research with direct human benefits, such as curing diseases or increasing food production. Others contend that a wider range of research topics should be supported. This essay will examine both perspectives and present my personal opinion.

One side of the debate suggests that government funding should be solely channelled into scientific research that provides immediate benefits to society. This involves directing resources towards practical outcomes, like finding cures for illnesses or improving food production. Advocates of this viewpoint stress the significance of directly solving urgent societal problems. They argue that investing in research that delivers concrete results can lead to significant enhancements in human well-being. This targeted approach ensures efficient utilisation of public funds to address pressing needs.

Others have a different opinion. They think that it's not a good idea for governments to only support research that has immediate benefits for people. Instead, they believe that a wider range of research topics should get funding. They argue that unexpected and valuable discoveries can come from different areas of research. For instance, even if a study doesn't seem to have an obvious connection to people's lives right now, it could lead to big changes in the future. By supporting a variety of research subjects, they think governments encourage the pursuit of knowledge for its own sake. This way, they promote a diverse and rich pool of ideas.

To conclude, the discussion on government funding for science tells us that both quick solutions and surprising discoveries matter. In my opinion, I think we should find a middle ground. While it's good to focus on quick results, we shouldn't ignore other types of research. So, it's smart for governments to support both practical and less obvious research. This way, we can make progress in different ways and explore interesting ideas.