Some people say that in the modern world, getting old is entirely bad. Others, however, say that life for the elderly nowadays is much better than it was in the past. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Due to the generation gap and rapid development of technology, the elderly become vulnerable objects in society. It is believed by some people that in the modern world, getting older is terrible. Meanwhile, the rest believe that these days, the aged have enjoyed far better lives than in the past. This essay will scrutinize both viewpoints before concluding that I am of the latter.

On the one hand, it is justifiable to opine that the aged in the past have better lives. The key rationale is that technology movements distract young generations from taking care of the aged who are assailable with offsprings’ behaviors. Therefore, they might easily face anxiety disorder or depression. Secondly, nowadays, there are many types of pollution such as air pollution, soil pollution, or water pollution which can cause adverse impacts on old people’s health. Meanwhile, in the past, the aged could enjoy organic fruit and fresh air.

On the other hand, the modern world benefits the aged in various ways. Firstly, these days, they can have better healthcare system and social welfare. Indeed, many chronic and incurable ailments are easily covered with the support of technology. Besides, many an old homeless person can gain a huge amount of money from the government which was invaluable in the past. Secondly, technology advances also deal with distance problems when the aged live far from their descendants. Since they just need a reliable internet connection and a smartphone, and this can ease their nostalgia about their children.

In conclusion, while I agree that in the past the aged were better behaved in some sectors of life, I side with people who concur that nowadays, the aged are much happier than in the past.