Some people believe that it is the responsibility of people to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe the government should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet

It is imperative to take good care of our health in order to avoid unfavorable health conditions. However, one decision the people are grappling with is: Should the government account for the health and diet of the people or the individual should take the responsibility ? In this essay, I will discuss both views, but because of the multitude health requirements associated with unique individuals, I believe the people should be responsible.

Owing to the fact that the government has lawful authority, and can therefore, enact regulations to control the food market, some people believe the government should take responsibility of the health and diet. They claim that the government can easily approve or disapprove vendors, and perhaps, restrict substandard food from hitting the market for consumption purpose. Advocates of this view also cite the use of publications and advertisement by the government as ways that could facilitate awareness and guidance of the public towards appropriate food intake, given all the media and power within its jurisdiction.

But, mostly, never do they know that there are wide varieties of health problems relating to numerous individuals, and as a result, the government may not have the in-depth knowledge and prevention measures of each ones. I believe most individuals tend to understand their health conditions better, as opposed the government's advice which might be based on general knowledge, although it might be effective to some extent. Not only do the people usually know what type of food to eat, but also the length of rest to take, depending on the individual's allergies.

The environment is another reason why people should take responsibility. Little can the government do about the individuals' surrounding, which may be the cause of deteriorating health, for it is quite quickly cleaned if it is duty of the people.

In conclusion, although the government has the central power to control the market in order to ensure healthy food in the circulation, the people often have accurate knowledge of their health, food and environment better than the government. Therefore, I am convinced that the individuals should take care of their own health and diet.