Some people believe that nowadays we have too many choices.

Do the benefits of this mobility outweigh the disadvantages?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Write at least 250 words.

With increasing economy and customer's demand, we have several options in the market. Although a section of people believes this change as demerit for the society, the merits are far more appreciated by other people. Undoubtedly, I accord with this notion that availability of multiple choices for a particular item outweigh the negatives.

Earlier, for particular items only a few manufacturers were present in the market. As a result. the price of the products were decided by the manufactures as per their profit targets. Consumers had no control over price of products as they were helpless because of shortage of options. For instance, during 90's only two manufactures were available for TV - Sony and Videocon. Customers had paid thousands of rupees for basic TV. After the introduction of other manufacturer like BPL, MicroMax, Samsung etc. in the market, the prices of TVs were drastically reduced. Moreover, producers invest more on their research and development to attract the consumers and to maintain the market share. Because of several choices, product quality has automatically improved.

However, with the increasing choices, consumers are in a confuse state of mind. Now-a-days, it is very difficult for consumers to buy a product as multiple options are available with small rate variation, which lead to more time consumption while purchasing any items. In addition, product selling platforms are not limited to shops after the introduction of e-commerce selling, which fuels the confusion of buyers to even more worst level.

To sum up, even though demerits are present after having various options for a product, the merits are far more effective for consumers. Because of competition in the markets,prices are in controlled, product quality has improved, and more satisfaction after purchasing although much time is needed in choosing a product.