Some people believe that schools should only teach subjects which are beneficial to children's future career and therefore other subjects such as music and sports are not important. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In this era of cut-throat competition, a vast majority of people give much emphasis only on academic subjects. This is the reason they argue that school boards should eliminate non-academic subjects such as music and sports from the school curriculum. However, I strongly advocate that these subjects are crucial to the holistic development of a child.

To begin with, sport offers a plethora of opportunities to children to explore and reduce the stress level, which generates automatically from parental and peer pressure. Owing to the huge burden of annual examination, and in order to achieve high grades students, students often study for long hours that makes them physically inactive. According to a study carried out by an Indian journal of health and fitness found that many school children usually suffer from immense strain because they are overburden by academic subjects, causing frustration and depression, especially, among teenagers. Hence, extra-curricular activities are mandatory in school's syllabus so that pupils get chance to improve their standard of physical health.

Furthermore, music help learners to broaden their horizons of creativity. It is evident that introducing art in the early childhood years can help foster a positive attitude toward learning curiosity as artistic education develops the whole brain and a child's imagination. Also, playing a piece of musical instruments, learners are encouraged to think and promote craftsmanship instead of mediocre work. Music can be challenging for all pupils, but it can keep them interested and engaged in school hours. Teaching art; thereby, could hone the innate talent of gifted children and paves way for a famous artist of tomorrow.

To conclude, while other subjects are quite essential in order to acquire knowledge, non-academic subjects definitely help students to cope with various obstacles that hinder their physical and mental growth. From my perspective, in the contemporary era, these subjects play a vital role in the overall development of a child, and thus should not be removed from the school curriculum.