Some people think that schools have to be more entertaining, while others think that their sole purpose is to educate. Which do you agree?

It is undeniably true that the major purpose of schools is to educate pupil; however, many people argue that entertainment is quite essential in the school premises for the holistic development of students. I also advocate that extra-curricular activities play a crucial role in the physical and mental growth of a child.

To begin with, physical participation in non-educational activities such as sport, drama, art enhance the cognitive skills of the children. This is because such recreation offer opportunities to the learners to interact with their peers, which helps them to comprehend their strength and weakness. For example, a recent study by the World Health Organisation found that teenagers who often participate in sports or other activities excel in their academics and social life as compared to those who are physically inactive in recreational habits. Consequently, schools ought to be more entertaining in order to develop intellectual skills among pupil.

Furthermore, much emphasis on academics could lead to certain health associated problems. Unfortunately, today's parents and education structure place the huge burden in toddler's mind. In order to achieve high percentage, students usually engage in the persistent study which can isolate them from society. Owing to this separation, children may avoid the other facets of life, leading to the disinterest in study and frustration. This can further cause depression and other physiological disorder. Hence, to break the mundane of regular study, the school should have adequate resources for recreation.

In conclusion, it is evident that non-educational activities provide a platform to explore to the learners to be better off in their life. In my opinion, besides academics, schools and parents should priorities the extra-curricular activities because it could help children to prevent themselves from health and social illness.