Some people believe that social networking sites have bring people together,but have adverse effect on communities and families. To what extent do you agree or disagree.

Few people are of the belief that social networking sites are bringing people together, but have unfavorable effects on communities and families. At present, there are multiple social networking sites, like, Facebook, Linkedin, Instagram, Twitter. These social networking sites are not only bringing people closer around the globe but also provide cost-efficient means for communication. In my opinion, this statement can be agreed upon completely.

Social networking plays a major role in keeping the remote areas up to date with news and updates that are happening all around the world. The various platforms are providing an effective way for people to come together and interact with others. It also facilitates groups and pages, which supports various social causes. People are no longer bound by geographical boundaries in participating in events, tutorials, etc. Anyone in social media can join any group of their interest and learn or meet new people and make friends.

However, it has a negative side too. With the increase in social media, most youngsters are getting addicted to it. They are spending more time on them than extracurricular activities, studies, or with families. Also, not all views that are there on this media platform are positive. People are now more worried about the opinion of their followers than of themselves or their families. The negative remarks are often resulting in mental health problems. In addition to all this, people are often physically present in the family gatherings but mentally they are in their social media groups. This is causing more rifts in the families and friendships than making them closer.

In conclusion, I would like to say that social media is a great tool for bringing awareness, helping people, and more importantly in bringing people together. However, it has some serious drawbacks and should not be ignored, and therefore, people have to be very careful in the way they use this tool.