Some people believe that students should be taught international news as a subject at school. Others feel that this would be a waste of valuable school time. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Recently, the world has become more connected and any global incidents are available over the internet. While a stratum of society insists the world news should be taught along with academics of schools, others oppose with the statement as they feel it would unnecessary pressure for pupils. However, I believe that studying international news is fruitful for the students but shall not be taught in schools still, I will discuss both contrasting views in this essay.

To commence with, the benefits of studying world news at school. Since globalization, the entire world has become a single entity. Any events occurring at one place have impacted all over the globe. For instance, when the coronavirus had out broke from China, the entire world got impacted. As the awareness regarding the same taught in school, students become conscious and took necessary measures mainly practicing social distancing among themselves. Moreover, it will provide a wealth of knowledge about happenings around the world. For example, innovations in the field of medicine and science which are taught in school could inspire and motivate younglings. To exemplify, when the achievements of Kalpana Chawla were taught at school, many female students were inspired and got motivated to achieve the area of their interest.

On the other side, including international news as a subject has its drawbacks. First and foremost, pupils are already under pressure from their curriculum, adding more content would increase their stress. Secondly, all the information related to real-world activities is available over the internet and media. Therefore, students can learn from those mediums instead of studying worldwide news as a subject in school. Besides, there are channels like ABC and BBC, which provide news about global incidents round the clock.

In conclusion, it is necessary for pupils to gather the knowledge of international news, but such kind of information shall not be taught as a part of academics.