Some people believe that there should be a fixed punishment for each crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

​Although there is no doubt that crime must be punished, it is essential to consider which type of penal system is most appropriate. While some believe that a system of the fixed sentence should be adopted, I support the view that punishments should be based on circumstances and motives.

Those who advocate implementing a judicial process of set punishments may argue that this would make criminal trials more efficient. For instance, if a jury has decided a particular defendant is guilty of murder, the judge needs to refer only "punishment of murder" to sentence that person to life imprisonment. The benefit of this is that a tremendous amount of time would be saved in court, thus leading to significant financial savings. As a result, more money could be saved and can utilize in healthcare, education, and welfare.

However, I would argue that the above system is too rigid, and the process of " flexible​​ punishments" is quite fairer. The latter method, which many countries use, leaves more room for compassion towards the offender who has been blackmailed or manipulated. For example, if a thief is able to prove that he had been bullied into committing the crime, he should be sentenced to less prison time than a thief who had been motivated by greed. If instead, fixed punishments were implemented, the sense of fairness and morality would be lost.

In conclusion, while a legal process of fixed punishment might be more cost-effective and efficient, a procedure to access the crimes on the basis of circumstances and motives is more just, and justice, in my view, is paramount.