Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment

One of the most conspicuous trends of today's world is a colossal upsurge in the number of people arguing that there should be fixed punishment for each crime. As Such, there are merits and demerits to this trend that sentencing should be predefined for a particular crime, although I am of the opinion that the latter outdo the former. In this essay, I will discuss both the views and will also give my opinion at the end.

On the one hand, those who believe sentencing should be fixed for a crime might argue that this would make Punishments more effective. For Example, if a murderer finds guilty for this mistake, the judge just needs to refer to the punishment for murder and sentence the person. In contrast, if there are no fixed punishments for a crime, it will cost the government both money and time. As a result, this money could be spent on healthcare and education.

On the other hand, my view is that taking the situation and the reason for the crime into consideration is important because it can help the judge to understand the circumstances and give their judgment. The reason for this is that there can be some kind of blackmailing or manipulations to make the victim do the crime. For Instance, if murder is able to prove that he had been manipulated into commuting the crime, he should get less sentence than the other who is self-motivated for the crime. If instead, fixed punishments were implemented, this kind of flexibility will be lost.

In conclusion, Despite a fixed punishment system that can save a lot of time and money, it is my firm belief that crimes need to be assessed based on the circumstance and motive before giving any judgment.