Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part high school programmes (for example working for a charity, improving the neighbourhood or teaching sports to younger children). To what extend do you agree or disagree?

Some people are convinced that high school students should be involved in voluntary work for their society. This essay agrees that unpaid community service is a good idea for teenagers, however, it should not be obligatory. Firstly, this essay will discuss how students can gain experience and respect for work, and secondly, the essay will look at how they can learn to manage time.

By giving teenagers unpaid compulsory work with charitable or community organisations they will have opportunity to improve skills necessary in their future job and gather experience which is necessary to increase their employability. Students will also gain more respect for work and money as they will realise how it is difficult to earn them and hopefully will learn to spend them with common sense in the future.

Moreover, students who are involved in voluntary work have to learn how to manage their time properly. They are obligated to divide time between the college and volunteering. In this way teenagers may improve their organisational skills and find way how to cover all tasks which have under their responsibility such as homework, assessments related with their schools tasks. Therefore instead of numerous benefits associated with unpaid work as a part high school programmes in my opinion it should not be a compulsory subject. For students who prefer to focus their attention on improving their knowledge, school should provide extra lessons and one by one consultations with tutors as an alternative solution for unpaid work for society.

In conclusion, unpaid community service as a part of high school programmes bring numerous advantages for students, however, school should offer alternative solutions for students who are not interested in doing this work.