Some people believe that unpaid community service should be a compulsory part of high school programs (for example working for a charity, improving neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children).

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

What are community service and their purpose?

There is no denying in the fact that topic of “community services” attracts our immediate attention due to its widespread impact on societies. Societies are made up of its people and if people did not play their part well in building of a healthy and prosperous no success can be gain. In running days, where everyone is so busy in his/her life and has no spare time to give to others, it becomes very hard to find people doing social services. It can be witnessed that often people found neglecting their part that has to be played for the betterment of communities.

Aforementioned topic shows the narrative on making unpaid social services compulsory for young students whereas we can see the other school of thought might oppose the idea. I completely second the opinion of making unpaid community services necessary for the high school kids as this is the time when kids are in the phase of learning and there can be no better learning then to serve the humanity.

To begin with, I would like to throw some light on the idea of making community services compulsory and its importance for both society and the young generation. If we make it a part of their education program, we encourage them to help people around them. The significance of this practice can be understand by this example. When a kid helps his/her neighbor in some house chores like lawn mowing, cleaning of his garden, it helps him in understanding the value of cleanliness. While helping youngsters in playing some sports or in advising related to their career move, gives them a sense of responsibility as they consider themselves liable for the decision. By raising funds for an old home makes them feel good for elders and they can have a stronger bond with old generation.

In continuation to this, we should encourage kids to perform all such community services free for cost as by associating monetary benefits, we might kill the spirit of this service and it will not help us achieve the goal of making a generation of selfless people.

To recapitulate, students should participate in all such activities and help people around them in order to create peace and harmony in the society.