Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others, however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment.

Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

Since the dawn of the Earth, the concept of good and bad exists. There is always a heated debate of how these punishments should be executed and to what extent. A group of people assert that punishments should be fixed while the other group is of the view that certain factors intact to crime should be kept in consideration before finalizing sentences. Before reaching to final verdict, let’s discuss both views in detail.

To begin with, there are certain laws which are formalized in absolute manner to punish a culprit. For instance, there should be no consideration for a murderer. Since considering their circumstances and making room for less punishment would encourage other people to commit crime. There has to be fixed and strict punishment for certain crimes like murder or rape attempts, particularly for murders as a person has killed a living human being and ended his life.

On the contrary, there is no denial to the thought that there should be considerable review to the circumstances in which a culprit committed crime. Whether he was not in his good mental state?. If a person has dome theft, was he starving to death or was he jobless?. We must understand the reasons for consideration as it will not only discourage people to commit more crimes but also eventually add value for society betterment. For instance, if a person is caught stealing money or food. Instead of putting that person behind the bars right away. Police should have reasons with that person that what made him attempt that crime. What were the factors that he was forced to steal things?

To put the things into perspective, laws are made for people by people and are always amendable. There should be some flexibility in punishments for the people who have sound reasons for committing crime. Also, Government organizations should work on the mitigation plans so that such situation does not occur again. We need to remember that hatred should only with crime not with the person committing it.