Some people believe that unpaid community work should be a compulsory part of high school programmer (e.g working for charity, improving the neighborhood or teaching sports to younger children)

To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Serving humanity selflessly without any monetary gain is an arduous task in today’s era. However, whether it should be included as a mandatory activity for high school students is a debatable question. While many people argue that it is not essential for teenagers at school, I strongly believe that it is far more beneficial for various reasons.

Firstly, high school students can acquire practical life lessons by doing free of charge social work. I concede that they are already stressed due to long school hours and continuous pressure of exams, however, working selflessly for community will prepare them to enter the hardships of practical life. By giving free of cost social services not only they can come across and interact with people from different social class but they tend to be more aware of their local issues. This will probably boost their communication skills and gives better insight of every situation, which will eventually help them to tackle problems in practical life.

Another benefit of unpaid social work is that it will make secondary school students more realistic towards real life issues. The increasing detrimental exposure of teenagers to violent movies and films make them vulnerable to emulate movie characters and scenes in real life, which, in turn, results in disruptive social behavior. Free of charge social work will probably help to bring them out of their fantasy world into reality. In fact, by spending time with aged people in old homes, fundraising for charity work and helping out kids in different games they become more engaged to the world surrounding them and would be able to control their aggressive behavior. Moreover, the sense of satisfaction which they may obtain from social work is more beneficial for their mental health than mere monetary gain. If high school students are psychologically and emotionally stable, they will certainly achieve more excellence in their academic life.

In conclusion, free of charge social services not only teach high school students practical life lessons but also they make them more prudent. Therefore, I completely agree that they must be an obligatory part of high school curriculum.