Some people believe that visitors to other countries should follow local customs and behavior. Others disagree and think that the host country should welcome cultural differences. Discuss both views and give your own opinion

People are increasingly traveling to other countries for spending their holidays, getting treatment for their ailments and for many more reasons. It is believed by some that travelers ought to follow traditions of host countries while others say host countries should accept visitors as they are. This essay intends to analyze both perspectives. I agree with the latter view.

There are many reasons why people visiting other countries should imitate the customs of the local country. Firstly, when they learn the culture of other nations, it reduces the chances of misunderstanding and embarrassment. They would not hurt the feelings of native people unknowingly. For instance, it is considered offensive to ask about salary in the UK, whereas it is very common in India. secondly, the culture and traditions of the country provide a deep insight into that country. If they copy the customs of the local country, they would learn about them. hence, they would be able to make a better rapport with the people of that country.

On other hand, people who assert that host country should welcome other cultures, give their reasons as follows. To begin with, the first reason why they should accept the culture of travelers is that It would helps to boost the economy as foreign visitors would feel respected, and it may strengthen the relationship between the people of both the country and as a result, overseas visitors are more likely to visit that country again. Also, there should not be a compulsion to follow the customs and traditions of the hosting nation. For instance, if a person, who is vegetarian, visits a country, where people eat meat, he should not be forced to eat meat. It would have counterproductive results on the tourism of that country.

I believe the host nation should accept the traditions of visitors as we are imparted with knowledge about the living style, and culture of their culture without going anywhere and without spending a single penny.

In conclusion, I believe that visitors should not be forced to imitate the tradition of the host country and these local nations should respect the culture of overseas visitors and embrace the cultural difference.