Some people choose a career according to the social status and salary it will give them. Others choose a career according to whether they will enjoy the work.

Which do you think is the best way to choose a career?

In our life choosing a career is an important factor to consider. If I had to choose between high salary and high level of enjoyment, I think I would choose the high salary. If I will choose a career for enjoyment basis only, I might not earn enough money. High paid jobs are beneficial socially and economically, as now will be discussed.

Practically, earning money is the main reason why we work. If a person is highly compensated he can support himself and his family needs for daily livings. Once we are in comfortable living in earning, we can pursue our personal interest in our free time. Aside from providing the basic necessities of life, giving us our wants would be possible too. For example, an employee with the annual income of P 1,000,000 per year could afford to avail a housing loan of P20, 000 monthly. So, those people with high wages could own a house which makes their lives comfortable. Furthermore, high paid people tend to have more time to socialise because they have enough money for parties and social gatherings. It is evident that choosing a career with high wages should be considered.

On one hand, having high income could boost our economy. In the sense that the higher the salary, the higher contribution they paid for taxes. Eventually, we can help develop our economy in the other way around. On the other hand, nowadays we are suffering from an economic crisis. All the prices are going up including the rapid increased in our electricity and water bills. The salary we get will not be enough for daily expenses. In order to combat these rising problems, the solution is ours to make. We should be wise enough in choosing the profession to fulfil which is economically practical. For example, the country's unemployment rate hit 27 percent equivalent to 12.4 million jobless Filipinos. Others are opted to accept low wages than having no job at all. The problem has taken place from the moment they have decided a career of their choice which is not in demand.

In conclusion, adequate salary could be very beneficial in regards to social and economic factors. It is the best way, for it can provide the basic needs for ourselves and our family. Therefore, I strongly believed that the future lies in our own hands. Being wise in decision making for attaining career goal with high salary are far more important than a career for enjoyment basis only that is impractical.