The most effective way to solve traffic and transport problems in the cities is to encourage people from suburbs or the countryside to live in the cities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is argued that people from suburbs or countryside should be persuaded to move into the cities as a solution to the traffic and transportation woe. This essay disagrees with the above statement and will, therefore, explain how it deteriorates the present situation. Firstly, urbanization brings a lot more traffic problems to the cities and secondly, it’s very expensive to live in urban areas.

Urbanization means there will be more vehicles in the cities as people from different age groups will need them to move around together. Also, in order to complete their day to day tasks and responsibilities, the new residents will require more transportation services. This will increase traffic congestion, particularly during peak hours. In New York, for instance, 40% of people use personal vehicles to travel, which is more than one million automobiles on the roads. People settling from rural areas into New York looking for opportunities made this happen and it has resulted in daily traffic jams.

Living in a city, compared to the suburbs, is very expensive. Housing is not cheap in the cities and the cost of rent is skyrocketing. Not only the accommodations but also the food and other services such as bus passes cost a lot more than in rural areas. People may not have enough funds necessary to afford these burdens added along to the cost of moving. Toronto is a prime example where it costs an average person’s monthly salary to rent a one-bedroom apartment.

In conclusion, encouraging public to move into cities would not help in solving traffic and transportation problems because of the fact that more people cause more traffic and the high living cost making it an unaffordable option to many.