Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

You should write at least 250 words.

People argue that advertisements are means of selling new products to consumers that may improve their living. I agree with the view point and the essay will reflect the reasons.

Firstly, advertisements are informative. The bring information of new products on the market and people are able to choose from different brands online advertisements save time and consumers can compare the products easily and at their convenience. For example, through advertisements people have become aware of alternatives to sanitary napkin. Now there are other options, such as tampoon on menstrual cups, to choose from which alleviates the worry of the mess.

Secondly, some advertisements go beyond promoting their products targeting the family love and relations. For instance, the indian advertisement of Cadbury shows that whether it is a couples tiff or quarrel between siblings or a festival where families come together, problems can be resolved with love and smile and Cadbury helps amplify that love and happiness. In another advertisement, a mother's love and care is portrayed through the hardships she overcomes for her children and Bournvita is there to aid in her journey. Here the product appears to provide support rather than being something people cannot do without.

In conclusion, though the advertisements are a way of selling the product but they contribute significantly by bringing the latest information and relaying the important of love and happiness with social message. These advantages carry more value from the traditional thinking and will play a bigger role in shaping people's lives for better.