Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives.

Which viewpoint do you agree with?

Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

In the world today, advertisement is gradually becoming a successful tool for promoting a product or service.

A good number of people believe that advertising of commodities is relevant to assisting individuals to learn about new merchandise. While others are of the view that advertisement is a gamic used to deceive the public into purchasing items that they end up not using.

This essay supports the latter part of the argument and will expatiate further.

In order to promote a product, companies tend to give a false representation of their commodities by only showing the bright side. This, in turn, deceives the unsuspecting viewer into purchasing the item and in the long run, cannot use it to achieve what was required. To illustrate, there has been a rise in the advertisement for herbal teas and coffee for weight loss. Experts believe that the only unaversive way to lose weight is by eating a healthy diet and exercising regularly.

Furthermore, people who have gone ahead to buy these herbal teas tend to abandon it when they realize that, what was depicted in the advert is not achievable.

Secondly, Advertisements may imprint products in the minds of individuals to assume they need the product to survive.

For instance, students in higher institutions feel it is necessary to own the latest smart phone in the market whereas those extra features advertised, are not necessary for their day-to-day activities.

They also use it to show social class which is irrelevant to their studies and can promote inferiority complex in those that cannot afford to get the most recent smartphone.

In conclusion, advertisements depict only the positive sides of a merchandise which is deceptive to get the customer to purchase goods that are not needed by them.