Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

It is often argued that educational programs concentrate more on teaching theoretical courses rather than practical skills. I strongly agree with this statement due to some reasons.

To begin with, today’s academic subjects are usually limited to fundamental courses including math, physics, and chemistry. Students are often struggling with memorizing too much factual information such as math formulas or complex chemical structures, and they are highly likely to forget such data right after passing their exams. Although the importance of these theoretical topics in developing students’ logical and reasoning skills could not be neglected, there is an immense lack of courses which focus on the development of practical capabilities. For example, as a student of computer engineering, I have spent most of my time at university on learning courses such as ‘Data Structures and Algorithms’ and ‘Computational Methods on Engineering’ which have improved my mathematical skills instead of my computer programming skills.

I believe that teaching facts to students should be accompanied by practical workshops and experimental laboratories in order to result in better understanding of these lessons. For instance, if chemical concepts are taught through doing experiments, students will be able to observe and analyze the results rather than just making efforts to memorize them. Moreover, in this way, graduates will be qualified both academically and experientially to apply for the available job opportunities. As a result, the rate of unemployment among fresh graduates will decrease as they are not required to do free internships or take courses in vocational institutions to develop their technical skills.

In conclusion, considering the importance of learning practical skills, I am of the opinion that the amount of time spent on teaching theoretical subjects in educational institutions is more than necessary.