Today more and more tourists are visiting places where conditions are difficult, such as the Sahara desert or the Antarctic? What are the benefits and disadvantages for tourists who visit such places?

During recent years, people have become more adventurous in their choice of holiday destination and are more willing to travel to unusual places like the Antarctic or the Sahara desert. Although visiting these places seem to be an exciting experience, there are several dangers threatening the visitors’ lives.

Perhaps the most impressive advantage of offbeat traveling is that it improves travelers’ confidence in their capabilities. The great sense of satisfaction together with the excitement that one would feel by successfully accomplishing a difficult journey, is a great asset which cannot be achieved by visiting common places. Furthermore, since few people are able to commute to such places, nature is almost untouched and of breathtaking beauty. Therefore, travelers not only would be amazed by the unprecedented scenery of unconventional places but also they have the opportunity to explore rare species of flora and fauna which could be found there.

Difficult places should be visited with caution, however, as the adventure might be accompanied by some dangerous situations. There is a wide range of poisonous animals including scorpions and snakes, for example, in the Sahara desert, which can cause serious harm to the tourists’ health. In addition to wild animals, extreme weather condition seems to be another challenging situation which tourists would have to deal with. The weather in the Antarctic, for instance, is highly variable and changes dramatically in a short period of time, which means that hot sunshine can change to a dangerous snowstorm from one moment to another.

To conclude, the excursion of difficult places is considered to be highly risky, yet some people tend to undertake difficulties in order to experience something valuable which cannot be found easily elsewhere.