Several languages die every year. Many people feel this is a positive trend and that a world with fewer languages promotes harmony and understanding between people. Analyze both sides of this argument and provide your opinion.

As a result of globalization, numerous languages are disappearing each year. While some argue this phenomenon boosts harmony and understanding between individuals, in my view, it has an adverse effect on local cultures.

On the one hand, advocates of fewer languages highlight that having common language plays a vital role in an effective communication and understanding. It means that the less diversity in the languages around the world, the fewer barriers individuals will face in communicating with each other. For example, the spread of English as Internet language has brought people together regardless of where they originally come from. As a result of easy communication, people would be able to better understand each other’s meaning and fewer conflicts will arise among them. In this situation, peace and understanding will be promoted among the nations.

On the other hand, the opposite group, including me, believe that the extinction of languages can be more detrimental. In fact, the language we speak can be viewed as a powerful tool which has been used to convey our traditions and culture from our ancestors. Therefore, if a society’s language becomes extinct, all the beliefs and the behaviors characterizing that nation will also die out in the long run. In this way, future generations are highly likely to have an indifferent outlook toward their country’s destiny, as they will not be well-informed about the value of their country’s history and identity.

In conclusion, although fewer languages can bring some benefits to people, I believe that its devastating effect on our cultural identity could not be neglected.