Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary school to universities, too much time is spent on earning facts and not enough on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Education is an essential element in every human. There are many people, who think that from basic level to tertiary level. Education emphasis on facts and information rather that practicality. I agree with those and present my view point in this essay to support my stand.

Firstly, from the beginning stage of the education of any child he is given abundant books do carry daily to study. These books are mainly, History, Science, Mathematics and other theoretical books. Apart from Mathematics and some part of Science no other books contain more practical lessons in it. Children are assigned numerous assignments to cramp them. They need to memorize date by date incidence in order to perform well in the exam. Logically it make no sense to remember the past events, just an overview of the History would be sufficient for knowledge. We should focus more in future rather than in past. Because we cannot change what had happened in past but we certainly can shape what is about to happen by learning more practical subject related skills.

Secondly, the traditional methods in class room teaching, where the teacher will read out the whole chapter in front of pupils is still in practice. For example in one of the school in my town, a teacher generally finishes each chapter within 3 days span by simply reading in front of students with some occasional explanations. This totally ignores the practical aspect in teaching that the modern teacher should deliver.

On other hand, there are few private schools and universities, which provide some hands on experience to their students in some fields, but it will cost a fortune to parents of the students. The government should try to apply these teaching methods into the public school in order to proliferate practical teaching.

In conclusion, in my opinion I agree that schools and universities are spending more time on teaching fractural details due to the traditional methods of teaching and passing in exam oriented approach.