Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough time on learning practical skills.

Do you agree or disagree?

Current structure of education system is questionable among certain demographics of the society as education system mainly focuses on factual knowledge than practical aspects. Even I strongly agree with this viewpoint and this essay will discuss my opinion on this with suitable examples.

It is true that from primary to masters level, students study theory of a specific subject, which leads to sketchy information of that area. For example, In Mathematics, complex theorems and formulas are applied to solve any problem but at the same time, there is an absence of awareness about practical usage in the field of Science and Research, Algorithm Design and Information Technology. Therefore, pupils failed to apply and correlate their field of study with the practical aspects of their jobs.

In addition to this, curriculum of educational courses at all levels should be updated and equal weightage should be set for theory and practical part. Moreover, pressure to secure high grades in exams also inhibit the children to go beyond the syllabus and explore the applications areas of the subject of their interest. To support this fact, one study by student group of London, shows that due to scoring high in academics, 90% of the students have limited bookish knowledge about their field than practical usage. Hence, there is definite need of amendment in educational curriculum.

In conclusion, by considering aforementioned facts, educational system should be reformed so that students can excel in their respective careers by gaining empirical skills at an early level.