Some people say that in all levels of education, from primary schools to universities, too much time is spent on learning facts and not enough time on learning practical skills. Do you agree or disagree?!

Of late a debate raged over the significance of learning practical skills in all educational levels. Some people believe that students spend most of their time studying raw facts rather than focusing on technical skills. I entirely agree with this statement as learning practical skills is of great impact on both individuals and societies as well.

Undoubtedly, the key to a successful personality relies on practical skills. Time management, teamwork, communication and creativity all are examples for valuable skills that should be taught to students in order to properly shape their personalities, hence, improve their overall performance. A recent study conducted by the University of Singapore showed that the chances of getting better grades are 35% higher if students spent 4 hours weekly working in groups. Moreover, those students were able to develop remarkable progress in terms of communication and time management.

On the other hand, the presence of such skilled individuals would positively reflect on the improvement of the country itself. To illustrate, some countries, which have included practical skills’ study side by side to the academic one, have leaders of young ages occupying critical and powerful positions. Those young leaders would immensely participate in the leverage of their countries by applying their unique skills to real-life situations. Sebastian Kurz, Chancellor of Austria and the youngest leader in the world, is a typical example of this.

To conclude, due to the enormous values added by dedicating more time for learning practical skills, I reiterate that if these skills were applied throughout all levels of education, great benefits would follow.