Some people think that parents should teach their children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the best place to learn this. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

People have different views concerning whether the school is the fundamental place for teaching children how to be influential citizens or this should be acquired at home. Although there is some truth in claiming that school is the leader of this mission, I believe that parents play the essential role in guiding children to become ideal members of society.

Undoubtedly, school community plays an indispensable role in the formation of children’s personalities, for it is the place where they learn academically and socially how to become well-rounded citizens. At school, not only children interact with peers of different cultural and financial backgrounds which make them more tolerable but they also learn how to lead a disciplined life. Thus, school contributes greatly to raising law abiding citizens that are able to deal with demagogues who might delude them.

However, despite the previous argument, I entirely believe that home is the primary school for the children as it is the place where they spent their formative years from birth to preschool stage. Moreover, parents are the custodians of children’s cultural and traditional backgrounds owing to the fact that children usually tend to imitate their parents’ actions. Fosters also hold authority over their siblings, which give them the moral obligation in order to correct children’s behavior by corrective measures upon which children grow. Therefore, parents are more influential than teachers, and most successful people attribute their success to their parents if they were asked about the reason behind their triumph.

To conclude, although school role cannot be underestimated in teaching children how to become good members of society, I opine that parents have a greater role in molding a child into a more responsible citizen.