Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or working a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.Discuss both these views and give your o

Nowadays, being a bilingual citizen can be an advantage specially considering the growing of communications and globalisation, the contact with different languages on a daily basis is a reality. Some may argue that learning a new language is only reasonable if business or pleasure abroad is involved but in my opinion, there is much more than that, as the development of intellectual capacities and better communication abilities.

Firstly, it is clear, what are the advantages of knowing a language when someone travels. Whether facilitates the work itself by increase the knowledge of the native language and therefore communication or by increase the empathy of those involved. While in any work, language is crucial, from a doctor trying to gather information from a patient to build up a diagnosis to a seller on a shop, the language skills also create a good feeling in the people involved, by making an instantaneous bond between them. But there is much more than these points to be gain.

Moreover, being bilingual is a skill that can bring benefits where we least expect. First, it can stimulate the brain to improve in different tasks and also increase the person social ability. It is scientifically confirmed that learn a new language can multiply the brain connections and synapses, in a way that performs better at multiple tasks. Furthermore, learning new words can help also to increase the vocabulary, in the native language as well, therefore increasing the social performance overall. These reasons are strong aspects that could influence someone in deciding to learn a new language.

To conclude, it is clear that speaking two or more languages can be an advantage, not only when travelling is considering, but also to self-improvement, in the social and intellectual aspects. I would also recommend, that having in account these advantages, you don't need any more reasons to start learning a new language today.