Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child's development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both view and give your own opinion.

There is a controversial issue about what plays a significant role in the development of children. Some teachers advocate that parents mostly influence their mental and physical growth, while some social workers state that both TV media and friends mainly affect their nurturing phases. In this essay, I will consider both points of view and agree with the idea of parental dominance in the upbringing.

Let us start with reasons why some teachers argue that parents greatly contribute to the child's development. The first reason is that children learn the majority of basic skills from their parents. From childhood to adolescence, children spend most of their time in parental environment, which generally forms their personality. As a result, they partly acquire some habits and outlook from their parents. Another reason is that parents decide for their children in initial years. Children usually learn what their parents prioritize for them, until they form their unique preferences, but it usually takes a long time, so parents play a decisive role in their formative stage.

However, some social workers say that television and friends have a major impact on child's formation. They justify their opinion with the following arguments. Firstly, children frequently start to speak, when they interact with other children. Friends naturally force silent children to speak, because they feel more confident with peers rather than their parents. Secondly, children normally accumulate information about the world through TV. Since parents also have limited knowledge and tend to be unable to answer some tricky questions, children turn to television in order to satisfy their curiosity. Therefore, they often become different from their parents, since documentaries, for example, change dramatically their view.

In conclusion, even though some social workers propagate the essential role of friends as well as TV media, I think that children mainly grow under parental influence for the above mentioned reasons.