Some people say that teenagers should work part-time and earn money. This way they will learn basic lessons about work and become more disciplined. Others argue that teenagers shouldn't sacrifice their rest and after-school activities to work.

Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Temporary or evening jobs have become very common these days especially when the adolescents and early adults are considered. Such a scenario may result into a punctual generation but it is traded with the leisure activities they pursue after the school hours. I strongly believe working post-school hours should be promoted as it equips a person with multiple benefits.

On one hand, having an access to their own earned money may augment the chances of distracting a child towards a wrong track like misusing the money on to activities which are harmful for their age. Since it will put them on a platform where they are not accountable to anyone for their expenses they may start indulging in smoking, drugs or gambling. With the same, studies and other activities like hobby classes, helping the family during off-hours and spending quality time with friends and family will be overlooked which indeed is very important for their 360-degree development.

On the contrary, many people, including me, believe that promoting a part-time job among teenagers will bring manifold advantages ranging from hands-on experience to building networking contacts. All of which is crucial for their future. By having such jobs will provide them a stage to learn the know-abouts of work and to understand the basics of book-keeping at an earlier age. For an instance, a majority of teenagers who work part-time find their career interest from the things they do at an earlier stage in their life.

Additionally, today’s children are into a world where they spend majority of their time playing online games or surfing social media which not only affects their physical health but also leads to an underdeveloped mind. Such a situation can be avoided if they are motivated to work during their free hours. Consequently, it will add to a productive mind which is utilised in a better way.

In recapitulations, though the teenagers who work few hours after school have some negatives but overall, it leads to many hidden benefits which may contribute to the development of a child and the nation in long run.