Some people spend most of their lives living close to where they were born.

What might be the reason for this?

What are the advantages and disadvantages?

Living in the hometown is a dream of many people. Few individuals prefer to live at their birthplace because they do not find it comfortable to relocate far from their home. Let us discuss the reason behind it in forthcoming paragraphs along with the merits and demerits of staying in the local place.

To embark with, the major purpose of living in the hometown is taking care of the parents as few individuals do not want to leave their parents alone at the cost of fulfilling their own dreams. To explain this, old people do not wish to leave their homes to accompany their children due to which people have to stay near to their birth places. For example, in countries like India, where the value of relations is too high, people always support their parents and relatives.

First and foremost advantage of living near the place of birth is friendly surroundings that enables natives to enjoy their life the most. To clarify, they do not want to get separated from their close ones. In addition to this, most of the people get parental property, due to which they are not burdened to spend their earnings for a shelter. For example, a recent survey conducted by the National Sample Survey Office, New Delhi on three big cities of India revealed that seventy out of hundred people are successful who got inherent support in terms of house and land.

On the other hand, despite the benefits of it, a section of society faces few difficulties in settling in their locality. Primarily, less source of income in some areas is the colossal disadvantage of it which not only restricts one to earn better but also affects their career growth. To illustrate this, people in such areas do not earn sufficient, even though they are working hard for their livelihood. Furthermore, people do not prefer to live in their native town if the weather condition of such places is too harsh to live in. To exemplify, Uttarakhand, the sate of India, where heavy rainfalls are seen in the monsoons, faces the threatening risk of floods and cloudbursts. Thus, inhabitants of this area prefer to live in their homes.

To conclude, living near to the loved one is always preferable only if there are better career opportunities available in the locality. Though benefits are more as compared to the drawbacks, its contrary side cannot be ignored. However, all this depends upon the personal choices of an individual whether to stay near to the hometown or to settle away from it.