Some people believe that hobbies need to be difficult to be enjoyable. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Some hobbies are easy while others present more of a challenge. I personally believe both types of hobbies are fun. Therefore, I disagree with the statement that hobbies have to be challenging to be enjoyable.

On one hand, simple hobbies are enjoyable for many reasons. First, it is easy for us to make friends if we enjoy simple hobbies. Activities such as watching football games are generally loved many people. We often connect with strangers by talking about our favorite teams and sharing our views on the new players. The increased chance of developing friendships is a great benefit that such hobbies can bring. Secondly, in an increasingly complex society, the general public yearns or simplicity. Most people’s lives are already challenging with bills, rents, healthcare, and education to worry about. After a busy day of work, watching a funny TV shows and not thinking about anything can be a good pastime.

On the other hand, challenging hobbies are exciting too. One reason is that people can gain great sense of satisfaction if they were able to accomplish the challenge. For example, mountain climbing put both the body and mind of climbers into test, since one has to manage the breath and overcome the fear of falling. The views from the top and the sense of overcoming the impossible is what makes mountain climbing charming. Another challenging hobby is chess. Players sometimes need to predict their opponents moves hundreds of steps ahead. It is truly sensational when you can forecasted very move and your opponent plays right into your hand.

In conclusion, simple hobbies are fun and relaxing and difficult hobbies can be equally pleasurable for different reasons.