Some people think that children should learn how to compete, but others think that children should be taught to cooperate to become more useful adults. Express some reasons for both views and give your own opinions.

There is a controversial issue about what children should learn. Some parents state that they acquire those skills that help them in competitive world, while some teachers say that they develop communication abilities to work well with others. In this essay, I will discuss both points of view and agree with the idea of development of abilities to work in teams.

Let us start with reasons why some parents argue that young people should study skills needed in competitive environment. The first reason is that these skills help them to stand out in the labor market. To succeed in career, applicants often have to develop skills that make them different from the rest, so children should master them to surpass other employees in the future. Another reason is that being competitive also allows them to become successful in personal life. Many wealthy people want to surround themselves with people, who can impress them with their unique skills. As a result, children should strive for becoming outstanding in order to attract attention of rich classes of society and join them.

However, some social workers advocate that children ought to learn to be communicable. They justify their opinion with the following reasons. Firstly, this ability can help them to work more effectively in organizations, because they can interact with both managers and co-workers in order to receive a good piece of professional advice. Secondly, communication skills also enable them to build healthy relationships with relatives and friends as well. Many people have problems with their family members as well as friends, because they do not notice their own rude behavior towards others, but with the help of cooperative skills, they realize this mistake and, consequently, become polite. Therefore, children should be taught social skills, if they want to become a fortunate part of society.

In conclusion, even though some parents believe that children should learn how to contest with rivals, I think that they should master soft skills for the above mentioned justification.