Some people think that children who spend alot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A section of society deems that time is lost if children squander it by reading storybook rather than doing other resourceful activities. In my opinion, this is not true. Is reading storybook a waste of time?

Although many would perceive reading storybooks doesn't do any good and is a sheer waste of time, children benefit from it in numerous ways, provided that they are exposed to novels or storybooks appropriate to their age. It expands their vocabulary and touches many aspects of sentence formations which, in a way, helps them to use the words in everyday life.

Even though they are hooked by novels that interrupts with their study timings or playtime where they also learn various other life skills that help them flourish as an individual, there has to be time barriers for all the activities. It is irrefutable that reading increases children's focus and concentration which are much needed in everything they do.

Although, the reading time can be used as an outdoor activity or a family bonding activity which is also of significance, especially for children of working parents. However, books help foster their imaginary and creative side of the brain. Most kids who are in habit of reading books are found to communicate effectively and even write short stories on their own.

Nevertheless, from an enlightened standpoint, focus and concentration is of profound importance for youngsters at various phases of childhood, I believe we should instil reading habits that provokes to impart all the life skills along with vocabulary, usage of words and pump up their creative and imaginary side.