Some people think that children who spend a lot of time reading children's story books are wasting their time which could be better used doing other more useful activities. To what extent do you agree?

A section of society believes that time is lost if children squander it by reading storybook rather than doing other resourceful activities. In my opinion, I agree with this, children should also get involved in different productive engagements which do more holistic development rather than just reading storybooks.

Children are fascinated by various storybooks because of simplistic articulation of the message with an attractive storyline of their interest, which in return, entices them to read and eventually gather a good command on vocabulary and comprehension. It also helps them in improving their thought process, moreover, when they grow old, they recapitulate the same and explore on to a variety of books and expand their horizon of knowledge. Apart from that, it aids them to gain wisdom in various domains to become a better human being and become more successful in future.

Nevertheless, they also need to study, spend time with family and engage in physical activities like playing with friends to gain social skills which are very crucial for their complete development. Firstly, family bonding is vital as they acquire values from their parents which is important. In addition to that, different outdoor activities like playing any sport, which not only improvises their physical health but also enhances other key talents like negotiation, coordination, planning and communication abilities.

To conclude, in my opinion, learning from reading storybooks is acceptable as long as it is performed in moderation while also focusing on other vital aspects of wholesome grooming that is needed for all-round development of a child.