Some people think that employers should not care about the way their employees dress, because what matters is the quality of their work. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

While some argue that setting a dress code at work is not significant since it does not directly influence work productivity, creating a dress code policy, in my opinion, is to an extent beneficial not only to employees, but also to the work in general.

Some people view wearing a uniform irrelevant to one’s work performance and will not yield any positive effect in the workplace. This can be true since what you are wearing is something that does not play a direct role on most of the things you do at work. Take for example an office worker who spends most of the time at a computer or his/her desk in a closed cubicle. Whatever he/she wears, may it be formal, casual, or semi-casual, it does not change the level of productivity.

However, there are other jobs where one’s outfit, I think, may make an impact. Upfront workers, such as receptionists, should be presentable enough to receive customers or guests. Another good example is those people who meet others face-to-face wherein one’s attire may leave either good or bad impressions. This is especially true among businessmen. In these situations, even though how you present yourself with your fashion preference may not directly affect how you carry out your responsibilities, it could affect social interactions which are important in such jobs.

In conclusion, although one’s clothing preference or dress code at work does not directly influence productivity, its relevance is worth considering depending on the nature of work.