Some people think that the government should be responsible for crime prevention, while others believe it is responsibility of the individuals to protect themselves.

Discuss both sides and give your opinion.

One group of people assume that the government has obligation to protect its citizens against criminal activity. Meanwhile, the opponents argue that every person should take responsibility for his own safeness. In this essay, I will consider both sides of the argument and then I will give my own opinion.

On the one side of the argument are those who believe that the government is responsible for crime prevention. To support their opinion they would appeal to basic human right, in particular one of them declares, “Everyone has the right to life, liberty and security of person”. Thus, the authorizes should provide safe environment in a country, where everyone including children, the elderly, disable people, anyone who cannot protect themselves would feel safe. In addition, citizens pay taxes and it is expected that part of them will be spending on security and protection. Otherwise, if the country are not able to protect its habitats, nobody will not be willing to live in it.

On the other side supporters of self-guard idea would argue that every individual should be in charge of his own safeness. This is because some people tend to behave recklessly, thoughtlessly without considering consequences of their actions. For example, one my acquaintances was raped by group of males while was staying with them alone and drinking alcohol. As well as some people against safety reasons let to strangers to come in their homes or give them personal information about family members. It goes without saying that the government is not able to protect them in these kinds of cases.

In conclusion, both sides of the argument have their merits, on balance however, I believe that the government should be responsible for law enforcement and prevention of crimes in the country, while citizens should take responsibility for their own safeness as well as.