Some people think that the government should increase tax on unhealthy food to encourage people to start eating healthy. Do you agree or disagree?

There is no doubt that food which consist of excess fat and carbohydrate will cause damage to our body leading to various health issue. Although some people believe that government should not impose heavy taxes on junk food, I strongly argue that this step will eradicate the unhealthy food habits in the society.

On the one hand, those who protest against levying an extra tax on junk food say that it would disturb their routine food habits and life style. This is because few people find it difficult to prepare food at home all the time. For example, nowadays it is quite common for both parents to work in order to fulfil their family requirements such as paying school fees, rentals and utility bills. In contrast, if there would be an increased tax on food take-a-ways, then people could not concentrate on more important things like studies and career.

On the other hand, I believe that an additional cost on processed food will affect the potential buyers who manage their budget very efficiently. Therefore, instead of spending too much on readymade food, people will make an effort to prepare healthy and nutritious homemade food for themselves. If there is no hitch in buying unhealthy food then people would entirely depend on canned and frozen food which is readily available in the market, then as a result society would face a lot of health issues like gastric cancer, obesity, and heart diseases.

To sum up, despite there would be an interruption in the routine of people’s food pattern due to increased tax on unhealthy food, it is my firm belief that they would look for alternative option for consuming food which is healthy.